Get Adobe Flash player

Second Official Assembly of Eurasian Academy

This assembly was dedicated to presenting membership certificates and Eurasian Legend awards to two newly elected members of Eurasian Academy, famous cinema figures Robert Hossein (France) and Türkan Şoray (Turkey).

On November 17, 2016, the second official assembly of Eurasian Academy was held in the Marble Hall of Khazar University. Participants in the event included administrators and faculty members of the university, Members of Parliament and other government bodies, ambassadors of other countries to Azerbaijan, people of science and arts, corporate executives, foreign guests, and members of the public.

When newly elected members Robert Hossein and Türkan Şoray entered the auditorium, the audience gave them a thunderous standing ovation. It was noted that Professor Roald Sagdeev, also elected for membership in Eurasian Academy, was unable to participate due to unforeseen circumstances.

An announcement was made that two members of Eurasian Academy, Professor Halil Inalcik and Professor Ali Javan, recently passed away. The audience remembered them with a moment of silence.

Hosts of the event Gunay Samadova and Eynur Mehdiyev greeted the participants on behalf of the university administration. Then films were shown reflecting the establishment and development of Eurasian Academy as well as the lives and works of new members Robert Hossein and Türkan Şoray.

Later the presentation ceremony of the Eurasian Academy certificate and Eurasian Legend award began. Eurasian Academy founding members Arif Melikov and Hamlet Isaxanli as well as the Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador of France to the Azerbaijan Republic, Aurelia Bouchez, presented Robert Hossein’s certificate and award. Then Arif Melikov, Hamlet Isaxanli, and the Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador of Turkey to the Azerbaijan Republic, Erkan Özoral, presented Türkan Şoray’s certificate and award. It was mentioned that Türkan Şoray is the first woman to be elected as a member of Eurasian Academy and receive the Eurasian Legend Award.

The hosts announced that Professor Lotfi Zade and Prof. Mahmut Gazi Yaşargil, founding members of Eurasian Academy, were unable to travel to Baku to participate in the Second Official Assembly but that they had sent their congratulations to the newly elected members.

During the event’s intermission, the Khazar University Chamber Orchestra performed a brief concert program.

The ceremony was broadcast live on Khazar University’s internet television and was reported broadly by Azerbaijani and Turkish media.